Leduc #1


Leduc #1


Energy Discovery Centre

Energy Discovery Centre


The Board of the Leduc/Devon Oilfield Historical Society


Our society exists to preserve and display oilfield and related artifacts of the past for the cultural and historical benefit of future generations and to educate individuals about environmental and energy industry related matters.


             President – Tim Hawkins


             1st Vice President –Mike Doepel


             2nd Vice President – Nick Wilson


             Secretary/Treasurer – William Bates


             Director – Al Grunsky


             Director – Len Kerekanich


             Director – Bob Bahniuk


Director- Dan Claypool


Director – Mitchell Pomphrey


Director of the Town of Devon – Grant Geldart


Director for the City of Leduc – Ross Golightly


Director for Leduc County – Gordon Schaber


Past President – Sheldon Weatherby


Executive Director – Cheryl Lawrence


Advisory Board


Bill Andrew     Lorne Larson


 Bob Brawn     Stephen Smith


Paul Gagnon      Roger Soucy









Become a Member


We are located 2km south of Devon on Hwy #60

10 Minute drive, West on Hwy 19, from the Edmonton International Airport

20 Minutes from Edmonton, South on QEII, take the Devon Exit ramp and follow signs

Contact Us





50339 HWY 60 South

Leduc County, AB T9G 0B2


Fax: 780 - 987-4365




By Mail

#6, 20 Haven Avenue

Devon, AB T9G 2B9






 In 1997, we opened our doors to commemorate the historic discovery of oil at the Leduc #1 well and to showcase Canada’s oil and gas industry to the world.